I have been colouring my hair for the last 20 years and most recently have had to colour every 2-3 weeks. Ties that were not authentic and honest, but damaging and unhealthy. The only real problems with going cold turkey is the psychology of saying goodbye to hair dye and dealing with a bold demarcation line (where the coloured hair stops). I love this blog and have been enjoying reading about everyones various experiences. Theres not a lot of rules when it comes to growing out your dyed hair to gray but these are 5 things NOT to do for sure. I have been dying my hair for so many years now that I have been afraid to let my hair go natural. I wasn't, although I believed I was at the time. But its always there if I need it. I am quite apprehensive about the grey coming through, and looking a wreck, but your experiences are really helping. My hairdresser was very supportive of my decision, as was my husband. I now have about 5 inches of natural growth (my hair is long), and shes begun weaving in charcoal to blend my previously highlighted hair with my natural growth. I do feel sad sometimes, because I am used to seeing myself with dark brown hair. No matter what your hair type is, we can help you to find the right hairstyles, Update your advertising tracking preferencesThe Right Hairstyles Copyright 2023, 65 Gorgeous Gray Hair Styles to Inspire Your Next Chop, 6 Tips for Transitioning to Gray Hair Based on My Experience, 7 Stylish Long Gray Hair Ideas That Dont Make Women Look Older, 10 Gray Hair Blogs That Inspire Women to Start Their Transition, My Honest Gray Hair Transition Story and How It Changed My Life. Explore. I plan to wear it in a pony tail or pulled up once it stRts to really show my silver/white. From dark brown to silver was too major and went with a short feathered cut which I have kept. What if he decided he wanted to stop bathing regularly for instance? But I am ready to embrace my new self in being who I am and where I am in life. Normalizing the Con